Programme - Shaping Europe’s Future: RTOs at the Forefront of Innovation Supporting Industry

Download the program

29 March 2017 - EARTO Internal Meetings & Conference Dinner
EARTO Internal Meetings - for EARTO members only

09:00 - 12:00

12:00 - 13:00

13:00 - 17:15

17:15 - 18:00

  EARTO Board Meeting (for Board Members only)

  Lunch (for EARTO Members only)

  EARTO Members Meeting (for EARTO Members only)

  EARTO General Assembly (for EARTO Members only)

EARTO Conference Dinner - for all
19.30 - 22.00   Introduction by: 
  •  Frank Treppe, President, EARTO

  Welcome address by:

  • Reimund Neugebauer, President, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
  • Dieter Reiter, Mayor of the City of Munich


30 March 2017 - EARTO Annual Conference
      9.00 - 09.40     

 Keynotes by:    

  • Reimund Neugebauer, President, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft
  • Georg Schütte, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research
  • Franz Josef Pschierer, State Secretary in the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs and Media, Energy and Technology

 Moderation by Frank Treppe, President, EARTO

Part 1 – RTOs as Key Drivers of European Critical Technologies Supporting Industry 

09.40 - 11.00

 Keynotes by:    

  • Frank Treppe, President, EARTO
  • Carlos Härtel, CTO & Chief Innovation Officer, GE Europe
  • Sabine Herlitschka, CEO Infineon Technologies Austria AG
  • Vladimir Sucha, Director General, Joint Research Centre, European Commission
  • Antti Peltomäki, Deputy Director General, DG GROW, European Commission 

 Discussion moderated by Frank Treppe, President, EARTO

11.00 - 11.30  Coffee break
Part 2 – RTOs as Key Drivers of Innovation Hubs Supporting Industry

11.30 - 12.30

 Keynotes by:    

  • Max Lemke, Head of Unit, Technologies & Systems for Digitising Industry, DG CONNECT, European Commission
  • Peter Dröll, Director, DG Research & Innovation, European Commission
  • Antti Vasara, Vice-President, EARTO
  • Alexandra Bech Gjørv, CEO & President, SINTEF
  • Gabriele Fioni, Director of International Cooperation, CEA and Deputy Director of CEATech

 Discussion moderated by Pia Sandvik, CEO, RISE Research Institutes of Sweden

12.30 - 13.45 Lunch
Part 3 – Supporting Future Research & Innovation Policy: H2020 Mid-Term Review towards FP9 & The European Innovation Council

13.45 - 15.00

 Keynotes by:

  • Antonio Vicente, Head of Cabinet Moedas, European Commission
  • Ulrich Samm, Rapporteur on H2020 Mid-Term evaluation, European Economic and Social Committee
  • Christian Ehler, MEP, European Parliament
  • Harri Kulmala, CEO, DIMECC Ltd
  • Yngve Joseph Foss, Head of Office, Research Council of Norway Brussels Office
  • Jan van den Biesen, Public R&D Programs, Vice President Philips Research
  • Inaki San Sebastián, CEO, Tecnalia

 Discussion moderated by Muriel Attané, Secretary General, EARTO 

15.00 - 15.30  Coffee break

15.30 - 16.15

 Panel Debate with the session’s speakers

 Discussion moderated by Muriel Attané, Secretary General, EARTO

16.15 - 16.30  Closing by Frank Treppe, President, EARTO 


We're starting in

Annual Conference

The EARTO Annual Conference 2017 will explore new ways and ideas on how RTOs can further contribute to increasing Europe's innovation capabilities and will look at what are the challenges hindering EU's innovation potential and how RTOs, industry, National and EU policy makers can work together towards more growth and jobs in Europe.

About the event

A 2-day Conference
March 29-30, 2017

Conference venue: 

Sheraton Munich Arabellapark Hotel
Arabellastrasse 5
81925 Munich




For general information about the conference, please contact us at:

Luisa Knabe International Business Development Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft

luisa.knabe[at] +49 (0)89 1205-7327 Hansastrasse 27c 80686 Munich Germany